Tamil Calendar 2021 showing Tamil Nadu government holidays, tamil festivals, panchangam, nalla neram etc. The traditional Tamil calendar is an inevitable part of Tamil culture and is still popular in Tamil Nadu and among people of Tamil origin around the world.

Today Tamil date: January 24 2021, Tamil calendar date is Sarvari varusham, Thai 11. Sukla paksha (valarpirai) Ekadashi tithi at sunrise. Today is Ekadashi.

Tamil month Thai 2021 starts on January 14. For natchathiram, rahu, muhurtham, go to today's Tamil panchangam →

Tamil calendar for the current month January, 2021 is given below.

January - 2021
Sarvari Maargazhi Thai
Base calendar: Gregorian Tamil
Language: English Tamil
VIEW:
Sun
ஞாயிறு
Mon
திங்கள்
Tue
செவ்வாய்
Wed
புதன்
Thu
வியாழன்
Fri
வெள்ளி
Sat
சனி
1
17 Poosam N 8:15 Dwithiya M 9:33 BH
New Years Day
H 17
2
18 Ayilyam N 8:17 Trithiya M 9:10 H 18
3
19 Makam E 7:56 Chathurthi M 8:22 H 19
4
20 Pooram E 7:17 Panchami M 7:14 H 20
5
21 Uthiram E 6:20 Sapthami + M 4:04 H 21
6
22 Hastham E 5:09 Ashtami + M 2:06 H 22
Epiphany
7
23 Chithirai A 3:46 Navami N 11:58 H 23
8
24 Swathi A 2:12 Dashami N 9:40 H 24
9
25 Visakam A 12:32 Ekadashi E 7:17 BH H 25
10
26 Anusham M 10:49 Dwadashi E 4:53 H 26
Pradosham
11
27 Kettai M 9:09 Trayodashi A 2:32 H 27
12
28 Moolam M 7:38 Chaturdashi A 12:22 H 28
13
29 Pooradam M 6:21 Amavasai M 10:30 H 29
Amavasai
14
1 Thai Uthiradam M 5:28 Pradhamai M 9:01 BH
Pongal
H 30
15
2 Tiruvonam M 5:04 Dwithiya M 8:05 BH
Thiruvalluvar Day
H 1
Mattu Pongal
16
3 Avittam M 5:17 Trithiya M 7:46 BH
Uzhavar Thirunal
H 2
Chaturthi Vratham
17
4 Sadhayam M 6:09 Chathurthi M 8:08 H 3
18
5 Poorattadhi M 7:43 Panchami M 9:14 H 4
Shashti Vratham
19
6 Uthirattadhi M 9:55 Shashthi M 10:59 H 5
20
7 Revathi A 12:36 Sapthami A 1:15 H 6
21
8 Asvini A 3:36 Ashtami A 3:50 H 7
22
9 Bharani E 6:40 Navami E 6:29 H 8
23
10 Karthikai N 9:33 Dashami N 8:56 BH H 9
24
11 Rohini + M 12:01 Ekadashi N 10:58 H 10
25
12 Rohini M 12:01 Dwadashi + M 12:24 H 11
26
13 Mrigashirsham M 1:55 Trayodashi + M 1:11 BH
Republic Day
H 12
Pradosham
27
14 Thiruvathirai M 3:12 Chaturdashi + M 1:17 H 13
28
15 Punarpoosam M 3:49 Pournami + M 12:46 H 14
Pournami
29
16 Poosam M 3:50 Pradhamai N 11:42 H 15
30
17 Ayilyam M 3:21 Dwithiya N 10:12 H 16
31
18 Makam M 2:28 Trithiya N 8:24 H 17
Big bold number - English date, Small red number - Tamil date, CA - Chandrashtamam, + - Next Day, M - Morning, A - After Noon, E - Evening, N - Night, H - Hijjara Calendar
Loading..

High quality Tamil calendar January, 2021 image. Download Tamil Calendar 2021 January →

2021 Tamil Festivals, Holidays & Important days

Given below is a list of festivals, holidays1, important days, events and observances in Tamil nadu for the year 2021.

Name Date
New Years Day Friday, January 1
Pongal Thursday, January 14
Thiruvalluvar Day Friday, January 15
Mattu Pongal Friday, January 15
Uzhavar Thirunal Saturday, January 16
Kaanum Pongal Saturday, January 16
Republic Day Tuesday, January 26
Thaipusam Thursday, January 28
Gandhi Samaadhi Saturday, January 30
→ All festivals in January
Name Date
Shula Vratam Thursday, February 11
Valentines Day Sunday, February 14
National Science Day Sunday, February 28
→ All festivals in February
Name Date
Maha Shivaratri Thursday, March 11
Karadaiyan Nombu Sunday, March 14
Palm Sunday Sunday, March 28
Panguni Uthiram Sunday, March 28
→ All festivals in March
Name Date
Maundy Thursday Thursday, April 1
April Fool's Day Thursday, April 1
Annual Closing of Accounts Thursday, April 1
Good Friday Friday, April 2
Easter Sunday, April 4
World Health Day Wednesday, April 7
Ramadan Fasting Starts Tuesday, April 13
Ugadi Tuesday, April 13
Tamil New Year Wednesday, April 14
Ambedkar's Birthday Wednesday, April 14
Earth Day Thursday, April 22
South Anang Trayodashi Vrat Saturday, April 24
Meenakshi Thirukalyanam Saturday, April 24
Mahaveer Jayanthi Sunday, April 25
→ All festivals in April
Name Date
May Day Saturday, May 1
Mothers Day Sunday, May 9
Ramzan Friday, May 14
Akshaya Tritiya Friday, May 14
→ All festivals in May
Name Date
Environment Day Saturday, June 5
Vrishabha Vratam Friday, June 18
Savitri Vratham Thursday, June 24
→ All festivals in June
Name Date
St Thomas Day Saturday, July 3
World Population Day Sunday, July 11
Puri Ratha Yatra Monday, July 12
Bakrid Wednesday, July 21
→ All festivals in July
Name Date
Friendship Day Sunday, August 1
Aadi Perukku Monday, August 2
Islamic New Year Tuesday, August 10
Independence Day Sunday, August 15
Muharram Friday, August 20
Varalakshmi Vratham Friday, August 20
Gayathri Japam Monday, August 23
Maha Sankatahara Chaturthi Wednesday, August 25
Sri Krishna Jayanthi (Gokulashtami) Monday, August 30
→ All festivals in August
Name Date
Vinayakar Chathurthi Friday, September 10
Arbaeen Tuesday, September 28
→ All festivals in September
Name Date
Gandhi Jayanthi Saturday, October 2
Durga Ashtami Wednesday, October 13
Maha Navami Thursday, October 14
Saraswati Pooja Thursday, October 14
Ayudha Puja Thursday, October 14
Vijaya Dasami Friday, October 15
Vidhyarambham Friday, October 15
Milad-Un-Nabi Tuesday, October 19
→ All festivals in October
Name Date
Deepavali Thursday, November 4
Deepavali Thursday, November 4
Vishweshwara Vratam Wednesday, November 17
Karthigai Deepam Friday, November 19
Uma Maheshwara Vratam Friday, November 19
→ All festivals in November
Name Date
Arudra Darshan Monday, December 20
Christmas Saturday, December 25
→ All festivals in December

Tamil Year and Month

Tamil calendar is a solar calendar ie., Tamil months start on the day of sankranti. Most of the Tamil festivals, holidays, vratams etc... depend on Tamil calendar date. As per Tamil calendar, the current month is Thai masam of Tamil year Sarvari.

The number of days in a Tamil Calendar varies between 29 and 32 days. The calendar follows a 60 year cycle and the calendar completes its 60 years, it starts again with the first year.

Tamil New Year / Puthandu

Chithirai 01 is celebrated as Puthandu, the beginning of new year as per Tamil calendar. Chithirai month begins with the Mesha sankranti, the entry of Sun into Mesha rashi. 2021 Tamil New Year falls on Wednesday, April 14. The name of current Tamil year is Sarvari. New year 2021 marks the beginning of Plava varsham, the next year after Sarvari in the 60 year cycle.

Watch Video: Tamil Calendar 2021

Frequently Asked Questions