Bhubaneswar: Senior Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader and seven-time legislator Surjya Narayan Patro was elected uncontested as the Speaker of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly, in Bhubaneswar on June 1, 2019. . Image Source: IANS News

Bhubaneswar, Feb 15 : Pandemonium prevailed in the Odisha Assembly on Saturday as the opposition created ruckus over the rulling of Speaker Suryanarayan Patro on media. The House was adjourned till 3 p.m. following the ruckus.

The Speaker on Friday had imposed an embargo on the media from reporting ruckus inside the House.

The decision invited criticism from the opposition BJP and Congress.

Senior Congress leader Santosh Singh Saluja told media that the Speaker should not throttle the media, which is the fourth pilar of the democracy.

Leader of opposition Pradipta Naik demanded that the Speaker should revoke the rulling.

Add your comments

There are no comments. Be the first to add a comment.

You May Like

Entertainment News

Latest News