Bolpur (West Bengal), Nov 16 : Reigning national champions Anthony Amalraj and Poulomi Ghatak besides Olympian Soumyajit Ghosh will be among the star attractions at the East Zone National Ranking Table Tennis Championships beginning at the SAI indoor hall here Saturday.

The other familiar names who have confirmed their participation for the event are Harmeet Desai, G. Sathiyan and Zubin Kumar. Ghatak will headline the women's draw comprising Shamini Kumaresan, Mouma Das, Divya Deshpande, Mamata Prabhu and Madhurika Patkar.

Ankita Das, who represented India at the London Olympics with Ghosh, will skip the tournament.

The East Zone championships will see over 500 players vying for honours in 10 categories: men, women, youth boys and girls, junior boys and girls, sub-junior boys and girls and cadet boys and girls.

The event's total prize money is Rs.5,76,700 with the men's winner taking home Rs.66,000 and the woman winner Rs.55,000.


Latest Entertainment News

Latest Photos