New Delhi, Nov 27 : With the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Left parties still adamant on a debate with voting on FDI in multi-brand retail, the ruling UPA Monday said it was sure of its numbers in the Lok Sabha.

After the Trinamool Congress (19 MPs) pulled out two months ago over the decision to allow foreign direct investment (FDI), the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) now has 245 members.

The strength of the opposition National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is 150, and the Left parties have 24 seats. Among other parties, Biju Janata Dal with 14 seats, AIADMK with nine seats and the Telugu Desam Party with six seats have said they will vote against government.

The Trinamool softened its stand on the debate Monday but is expected to vote against government.

Though extending outside support to the government, the Samajwadi Party (22 seats) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (21 seats) have opposed FDI in retail. However, the two parties may abstain from voting and help the government.

Here is the list of seats of various parties in the Lok Sabha.


Congress: 206

Nationalist Congress Party: 9

DMK: 18

National Conference: 3

Indian Union Muslim League: 2

Rashtriya Lok Dal: 5

Kerala Congress: 1

VCK: 1

Total = 245

Parties offering outside support to UPA:

Samajwadi Party: 22

Bahujan Samaj Party: 21

Rashtriya Janata Dal: 4

Janata Dal-Secular: 3

Nagaland People's Front: 1

Bodoland People's Front: 1

Swabhimani Paksha: 1

Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi: 1

All India United Democratic Front: 1

Sikkim Democratic Front: 1

Total = 56


National Democratic Alliance (NDA):

Bharatiya Janata Party: 115

Janata Dal-United: 20

Shiv Sena: 11

Shiromani Akali Dal: 4

Total = 150

Left parties:

Communist Party of India-Marxist: 16

Communist Party of India: 4

All India Forward Block: 2

Revolutionary Socialist Party: 2

Total = 24

Other parties:

Trinamool Congress: 19

Biju Janata Dal: 14


Telugu Desam Party: 6

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha: 2

Telangana Rashtra Samiti: 2

YSR Congress Party: 2


Asom Gana Parishad: 1

Haryana Janhit Congress: 1


Sikkim Democratic Front: 1

Independents: Nine

Total = 68

(Figures taken from the Lok Sabha website)


Latest News

Latest Photos