Oslo, Oct 17 : A new Norwegian government took office Wednesday after Prime Minister Erna Solberg, leader of the country's Conservative party, presented her cabinet to the king.

The coalition government formed by the Conservative party and the Progress Party comprises 17 ministers in addition to the prime minister.

Siv Jensen, leader of the Progress Party, was appointed the finance minister. The ministers of labour, justice, petroleum and energy, transport and children affairs are also from the Progress Party, while the rest of the portofolios went to the Conservative party.

The youngest minister is the 35-year-old Education and Research Minister Torbjoern Roee Isaksen, who comes from the Conservative party.

Boerge Brende, Ine Marie Eriksen Soereide and Monica Maeland were appointed as foreign minister, defence minister and trade and industry minister respectively.

Solberg's party won 27 percent of the vote in September elections. She served as the minister for local government and regional development between 2001 and 2005 in the government led by Kjell Magne Bondevik.

The new prime minister wants a stronger education system and better student performance especially in mathematics and science subjects, and more efficiency in the public services through more participation of the private sector.


Latest News

Latest Photos