Congress MP Sushmita Dev (R). . Image Source: IANS News

Guwahati, March 26 : Sixty candidates have filed nomination papers for Assam's five constituencies going to polls in the second phase on April 18.

While 19 candidates filed nominations for the Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency, 14 have entered the fray for the Silchar seat.

Six people have filed nominations for the Diphu constituency, followed by 13 for Mangaldai seat. Eight candidates have filed nominations for the Nowgong Lok Sabha constituency, election officials said, here on Tuesday.

The Karimnagar constituency will see a triangular contest between BJP's Kripanath Mallah, Congress Swarup Das and outgoing All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) MP Radheshyam Biswas. Eleven Independents are also in the fray.

BJP's Rajdeep Roy is contesting outgoing Congress MP Sushmita Dev in Silchar, which also has eight Independents in the fray.

In Diphu (Autonomous District), outgoing Congress MP Biren Sing Ingty is pitted against Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Horen Sing Bey.

In Mangaldai, the fight is between BJP's Dilip Saikia and Congress candidate Bhubaneswar Kalita.

In Nowgong, BJP's Rupak Sarma will fight former Congress Minister Pradyut Bordoloi.

Add your comments

There are no comments. Be the first to add a comment.

You May Like

Entertainment News

Latest News