Hojai: All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) chief Maulana Badruddin Ajmal shows his forefinger marked with indelible ink after casting vote during the second phase of Lok Sabha polls, in Assam's Hojai, on April 18, 2019. . Image Source: IANS News

Guwahati, April 18 : Nearly 26 per cent of the electorate voted in all five of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam on Thursday in the first four hours till 11 a.m., officials said.

Karimganj registered 28.30 per cent polling, Silchar 27.05 per cent, Diphu 28.90 per cent, Mangaldai 31.26 per cent and Nowgong 18.51 per cent.

The polling started at 7 a.m. across 8,992 polling centres and will continue till 5 p.m.

Nearly 36,000 personnel have been deployed in the second phase of the general elections, officials said.

A total of 69,10,592 voters are eligible to exercise their democratic right.

There are 50 candidates in the fray, including 18 Independents.

On April 11, polling was held in five Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam -- Tezpur, Kaliabar, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur.

Four constituencies -- Dhubri, Barpeta, Kokrajhar and Guwahati -- will go to polls on April 23.

 Add your comments

There are no comments. Be the first to add a comment.

You May Like

2019 Lok Sabha Election News

Entertainment News

Latest News