A security personnel stands on guard as people queue-up to cast their votes at a polling booth during the fifth phase of 2014 Lok Sabha Polls in Bhubaneswar on April 17, 2014. (Photo : Arabinda Mahapatra/IANS). Image Source: IANS News

Bhubaneswar, Oct 21 : About 25.7 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 11 a.m. on Monday for the Bijepur Assembly bypoll in Odisha's Bargarh district, said Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sushil Kumar Lohani.

Lohani said polling was peaceful across the constituency.

A total of 2.32 lakh voters, including 1.20 lakh men and 1.12 lakh women are exercise their franchise in 285 booths to decide the fate of five candidates in the fray.

The bypoll was necessitated after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who had won two segments in the 2019 Assembly polls, vacated Bijepur and retained Hinjili seat in Ganjam district.

Add your comments

There are no comments. Be the first to add a comment.

You May Like

Entertainment News

Latest News