Mumbai: Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union Minister Ramdas Athawale and Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray celebrate as the BJP-led NDA is set to retain power for another five years after making a sweep of the 2019 Lok Sabha battle and. Image Source: IANS News

New Delhi, Oct 24 : The ruling BJP on Thursday appeared to be falling short of the majority mark of 46 in the 90-member Haryana Assembly but looked set to retain power comfortably in Maharashtra along with ally Shiv Sena.

According to the IANS-CVoter, the latest trends from counting of votes in Haryana showed that the saffron party was leading in 42 seats while the Congress was ahead in 33 constituencies, the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) in 6 and the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) in 2.

Independents were leading in 4 seats and others in 2 constituencies, the trends indicated.

The BJP had won 47 seats in the last Assembly elections in 2014.

In Maharashtra where 288 seats are at stake, the BJP was ahead in 110 constituencies and its ally Shiv Sena was leading in 71 constituencies.

From the Opposition camp, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) was leading at 50 seats and its coalition partner the Congress was ahead in 38 constituencies. Others were leading in 11 seats while Independents were ahead in 6 constituencies.

Add your comments

There are no comments. Be the first to add a comment.

You May Like

Entertainment News

Latest News