Published On: Feb 26, 2021

The Election Commission of India on Friday announced that West Bengal will witness eight-phased Assembly polls beginning March 27. The counting of votes will take place on May 2. The ECI has appointed two special police observers -- Vivek Dubey and MK Das -- for West Bengal. West Bengal is likely to witness a triangular contest this time with TMC, Congress-Left alliance and BJP in the fray. While Mamata Banerjee is seeking her third consecutive term, BJP has set a target of winning 200 seats in the 294-member state Assembly.  

Related Videos

Entertainment Articles